Friday, February 10, 2006


GEORGE S. MORGAN was born in 1858 in Fredericksburg, Va., and in 1862 he accompanied his parents to Washington, D. C. He received his education in the common schools and subsequently learned the trade of barber. He remained in the capital until June 14, 1881, when he removed to Kansas, locating in this city, where he shortly afterward opened a first class tonsorial establishment., on Poyntz Avenue, which he still continues. October 10, 1879, Mr. Morgan married Miss Hermine Strong, of Farmville, Va. He is a charter member and secretary of the Corinthian Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and takes a lively interest in everything pertaining to the welfare of his adopted State.

JOSEPH M. MYERS, Sheriff of Riley County, was born in Hamilton County, Ohio, December 17, 1843. When he was a year old, his parents moved to Hancock County, Ill. where they lived until 1859. In 1858 his father had located a homestead in Riley County, and returning to Illinois for his family, sickened and died. The family, however, followed his intentions and settled on the homestead chose, where the widowed mother still resides. Enlisted August 11, 1862, in Company A, Ninth Kansas, as a private, and served until the close of the war, in the Army of the Frontier. After the war he returned to the farm, where he continued until 1881, when he was elected Sheriff of the county, which office he now fills with ability. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and G. A. R. He was married in January 1868, at Paola, to Miss Belle White. They have five children - Mattie, born May 1, 1869; Josephine, born October 10, 1871; Phoebe, born November 9, 1877; Dollie, born December 13, 1879; and Louis, born December 17, 1881.

E. L. PATEE, M. D., was born in Oxford, Delaware County, Ohio, February 23, 1832. He was educated at the Ohio Wesleyan University, graduating in the scientific course in 1849. Was a student one year at the Eclectic Medical College, Cincinnati, and for two years at Starling Medical College, Columbus, Ohio, graduating therefrom in the class of 1852. Afterwards he took a one term course at a Homoeopathic Medical College in Cleveland. He began the practice of his profession at Portland, Meigs County, Ohio, in the fall of 1853, where he continued until January, 1854, when he settled and practiced a year, and took a past graduate course at Miama Medical College. In the fall of 1855 he came to Kansas, taking a homestead at Ashland, in Riley County, and the following year moved his family to the State where he had determined to make his home. He came with the Cincinnati Colony, but left the boat at Kansas City, purchased a team, and came the remainder of the way overland. April 14, 1861, he entered the Second Kansas Volunteer Infantry, and was commissioned First Assistant Surgeon. Was mustered into the United States service, June 20, 1861. After the battle of Wilsons Creek and the death of Gen. Lyon, the troops with which he served retreated to Rolla. Lieutenant-Colonel Charles W. Blair ordered him to remove the sick and wounded to St. Louis. His train arrived at night with the suffering men, covered with dust and overpowered with heat. Working all night, he succeeded in dressing the wounds and caring for all his men. Gen. Fremont visited the hospital early in the day, and detecting the marvelous energy and power of the man, ordered him not to return to the front, but placed him in charge of the hospital - New House of Refuge. In July, at his personal request, he was again ordered to the front. Gen. Blunt gave him detached service until September, and then ordered him to report at his headquarters at Fort Scott. He was promoted to be Surgeon, rank of Major, September 19, 1862, and was Medical Director of Blunts army, until July, 1863, when he was detailed upon the staff of Gov. Kearney, ranking as Colonel. In this capacity he helped organize the Fifth and Fourteenth Kansas regiments. He served until the close of the war, and then returned to his practice at Manhattan, where he has been in continuous practice since, and ranks as one of the best surgeons in Kansas. He is purely eclectic in his practice, counseling all schools of practice. He has held several important civil offices. In 1867 he was appointed Clerk of the District Court for Davis County, then attached to Riley for judicial purposes, which position he held by appointment and election for four years. In 1864 he was elected Treasurer of Riley County, and re-elected in 1866, holding the office four years. He has also been Coroner of the county several terms. He is a member of the Masonic order, and of the I. O. O. F., G. A. R., and K. of L. He was married September 22, 1852, in Morgan County, Ohio, to Miss Cynthia A. Dye. They have three children - Alice (Mrs. Dickens), Clarence and Henry, all grown up and away from the parental homestead.

JOHN PIPHER, farmer, P. O. Manhattan, is one of the first settlers of the place, and has been active in every improvement of the city. he was born in Chester County, Pa., August 26, 1811. At the age of twenty-one years he went to Harrisburg, Pa. and learned the trade of tobacconist. Here he worked three years and then went to New Lisbon, Ohio, where he lived seven years, and finally to Cincinnati, where he spent eleven years, where we find him in the spring of 1855, preparing to emigrate to the then young territory of Kansas. A company of seven persons, of which Mr. Pipher was one, purchased a steamboat, the Hartford, and started with a colony of Cincinnatians, intending to locate at or near the mouth of the Republican River near Fort Riley. Leaving Cincinnati in the latter part of April, the steamer made St. Louis in four days. Here a delay of several days took place in trying to secure a pilot, the Missouri River pilot refusing to navigate an abolition boat. Finally leaving St. Louis, they made Kansas City in nine days. The Kaw River being low, the boat was unable to proceed at once, and Mr. Pipher, with two others of the colony and a surveyor, purchased a team, and traveled overland to a point where Junction City now stands, and began surveying the contemplated town which they had determined before leaving Cincinnati to name Manhattan. Finally the boat was started up the Kaw, and after a long and tedious passage, reached the mouth of the Blue River. Here they landed in response to an invitation of a colony from Boston, which they found occupying the land, and after consulting with them, Mr. Pipher and his associates at Fort Riley were sent for and a consolidation of the two colonies finally effected, the Boston Company taking the lands north of Poyntz Avenue, the Cincinnati colony south of that street, amounting in all to over 1,400 acres. The Boston Company, by their very liberal management, had thus secured a powerful ally, avoided a formidable rival, secured building material, the Hartford having on board ten frame houses complete, and more then all, the use of the steamboat designed to run regularly between the new settlement and the Eastern markets. But the boat was destined to never again leave the Kansas River. On her return trip the river had become so low that she was laid up at St. Marys Mission to await the flood from the autumn rain. While lying against the bank of the river, a prairie fire, probably set by two Indians, that the mate had driven from the boat for begging tobacco, swept over the country, leaped on board, and before aught could be done to arrest the flames, the Hartford was a smouldering (sic) ruin. The boat had cost the company $7,000; was insured for $3,500 and this, together with $300 derived from the sale of boilers, was all the company realized from their investment. The bell, with which the pilot was wont to control her movements, was afterward recovered, and is still doing good service in the tower of the First Methodist Episcopal Church of Manhattan. The Cincinnati Company having by the terms of settlement been allowed the honor of naming the future city. After the settlement had been effected, Mr. Pipher became a leader in every enterprise, looking to the future development of the place. For a year he was engaged entirely as a resident agent of the Cincinnati Company, being the only one of the capitalists that had a permanent residence here. Although afterward, one of the company, A. J. Mead, lived here for several years. At the end of the first year Mr. Pipher began business as a merchant, which he continued for some dozen years or more. In 1855, on the organization of the town, he was appointed Justice of the Peace by Gov. Reeder, and by appointment and re-election held the office for five years. He was also elected Mayor in the year of the settlement, and Colonel of a regiment designed to protect the State from the inroads of the border ruffians of Missouri . Mr. Pipher was appointed postmaster, the first for Manhattan, in 1855, and held the office for several years. In 1860 he was elected Probate Judge of Riley County, and continued to be re-elected until 1868 when he declined a re-election. The judge is a man foremost in every good work. He has been a member of the methodist Episcopal Church for more than fifty-eight years, and an officer thereof for more than half a century. He organized the first Methodist Episcopal Society of Manhattan while on board the steamer Hartford, before they had left the Ohio River. He has been a member of the I. O. O. F. since he was twenty years of age, having by dispensation of the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania been admitted to a membership before his majority, and for the last twelve years he has been Grand Chaplain of the Grand Lodge of Kansas; has also been Deputy Grand master. He has belonged to all temperance organizations, and is still an active temperance worker. He has frequently been Police Judge of the city, and in 1878 was elected Mayor for his last term, although the people are liable to honor him in the same way at any election. The judge has been twice married, living with his first wife for twenty years, and with the present Mrs. Pipher for a period of upward of thirty years in all, in double harness. His two surviving children - John W. and Mrs. George T. Brown, are married and living in Manhattan, and the judge is hale and hearty, and surrounded by grandchildren and great-grandchildren. He is passing his last years peacefully and in comfort, loved and respected by the whole community of his beloved Manhattan.

JEFFERSON ROBINSON, M. D., was born in Bath, Steuben County, N. Y., May 4, 1835. When he was five years old his parents moved to Chicago. At the age of fourteen years he went to Rome, Wis., and worked at the wood turners trade until his majority was passed. Entered Rush Medical College, and abandoned the college to enter the army, September 6, 1861, in Company I, Fifty-second Illinois Volunteer Infantry, as a private. He was promoted to Second Lieutenant, Fifty-fourth United States Colored Infantry, March 2, 1865, and was discharged from service in August, 1866. He returned to Chicago and re-entered Rush Medical College, from whence he graduated in the class of 1867. March 9 of the same year he came to Kansas and settled at Manhattan, where he has been practicing since. He is also the proprietor of a very fine drug store in the city, located on Poyntz Avenue. He has been a member of the City Council, belongs to the Masonic order, and has attained to the Royal Arch degree. He was married in February, 1867, at Milwaukee, Wis., to Miss Mary E. Burnell, who has borne him three children - Charles Nash, born February 19, 1869; Stanley R., born February 28, 1874, and Elsie M., born November 20, 1879.

E. M. SHELTON, professor of agriculture, in the Kansas Agricultural College, and editor of the Industrialist, was born in England, August 7, 1846. At the age of eight years his parents emigrated with him to America, settling in Western New York. In 1860 they moved to Shiawasse County, Mich. Mr. Shelton was educated in the Michigan Agricultural College, graduating in the class of 1871. Immediately after graduation, he was employed by the Japanese Government to make a collection of pure blood horses, cattle, sheep and swine, amounting to five car loads, which, together with agricultural implements, etc., he accompanied to that empire, and for a year was the superintendent of an experimental farm near Tokio (sic). At the end of the year, having lost his health in the unfavorable climate, he returned to Colorado and settled at Greeley, and became a farmer, remaining there one year. In 1874 he was elected to his professorship, and has been in charge of the State farm ever since. In 1879 he was elected to the same chair in the Michigan Agricultural College, but remained in the Kansas Institution. He has been editor of the college paper since 1878. Was married December 24, 1874, to Miss Elizabeth E. Sessions, of Ionia, Mich. They have two children - Frank, born in 1877, and Mary, born in 1879.

ALBERT TODD, A. M., First lieutenant, First Artillery, United States Army, and professor of military science in the Kansas Agricultural College, was born in Rhode Island, October 21, 1854. In 1856 his parents removed to Kansas, settling in Riley County. At an early age he entered the Kansas Agricultural College, graduating with the class of 1872. The following year Hon. William A. Philips, Member of Congress of the First Kansas District, appointed him to a Cadetship at the Military Academy, whence he graduated in due course, in the class of 1877, standing number five in a class of seventy-six. He was immediately after his graduation appointed Second Lieutenant in the First Artillery, and was stationed at Fort Adams, Rhode Island, was was afterward transferred to the school of artillery and practice at Fortress Monroe, Va. In July, 1881, he was detailed by Secretary Lincoln as instructor of military science in the Kansas Agricultural College. He was promoted to First Lieutenant, First Artillery, in April, 1882, and is now in his second years work in the college.

H. A. YOUNG & CO., dealers in lumber and all kinds of building material, Manhattan, Kan.

THOMAS E. WILLIAMS, druggist, was born in Kenton County, Ky., December 11, 1851. In 1855, his parents removed to Ashland Township, then Davis, but now a part of Riley County, where they still reside. Entered the Kansas Agricultural College where he was a student for two years. Returning to his farm, he remained until 1879, when he went into business with Robinson & Little as clerk, and continued with them and their successor, Dr. Robinson, until August, 1882, when he formed a partnership with Dr. Little, under the firm name of T. E. Williams & Co., and opened present business on his own account. They have a splendid store, and a fine trade. He was married, May 6, 1872, to Miss Octavia Westbrook, of Riley County. They have one child - Ada Florence.

JOHN F. BECKMAN, merchant, was born in Hanover, Germany, December 9, 1846. In 1863, he and his brother, C. W. Beckman, came to America, locating at Leavenworth, Kan. After passing a few years in a clerkship at Leavenworth, he engaged in the mercantile business on his own account, at Randolph, Kan., October 1, 1870. By close attention to business his trade rapidly increased, until, in 1879, he erected a spacious and commodious business house for his use. January 1, 1882, he took into partnership with himself, C. W. Beckman, under the firm name of John F. Beckman & Brother, and their business now ranks third in Riley County. He is a genial and cultured gentleman; a careful business man, and a good citizen. He belongs to the Masonic order, being a member of Farmers Lodge, No. 166, Randolph, Manhattan Chapter and Topeka Commandery. He was married, April 19, 1872, to Miss Anna Louisa Grall, of Randolph, and has apparently settled down into a permanent resident of this place.

J. CRANS, M. D., Riley Center, was born in Orange County, N. Y., August 6, 1842. He was educated at Middletown Academy. Prepared to enter college, but the war coming on, he abandoned the halls of education for the field. He enlisted in September, 1862, in Company B of the One Hundred and Ninth New York Volunteer Infantry. After serving three months as a private, he was promoted to Hospital Steward United States Army. Served three years and resigned at Mobil, Ala., in the spring of 1865. He commenced the study of medicine when but fifteen years of age, attended one course of lectures at Georgetown, D. C., and continued it after leaving the army, in Chicago, Ill., where he resided five years attending lectures. He then came to Riley Center in 1870. Finding that thee was but little sickness in this healthy and thinly settled country, he commenced raising stock, which business he has been engaged in extensively up to the present time. In 1878 Riley Center had begun to boom, and being much in the need of a drug store, the doctor built his present cozy little building, and filled it with a choice line of pure drugs and medicines. During the winter of 1879-80, he attended another course of lectures at Keokuk, Iowa, where he graduated with high honors, and returned to Riley Center, where he has established a large practice, and is recognized by the medical fraternity of Kansas as one of the most promising young doctors in the State. He belongs to the Masonic order, having attained to thirty-two degrees. Is a member of the Chicago Consistory. He was married at Chicago, Ill., May 6, 1866, to Miss Edith C. Landall. They have two children - Eulila, born July 1, 1871, and Daisy, born February 28, 1881.

CYRUS FOLTZ, County Commissioner of Riley County, P. O. Manhattan, was born in Franklin County, Pa., January 18, 1833. In 1855 moved to Fulton County, Ill., engaged in the trade until the spring of 1857, when he moved to Shawnee County, Kan., where he resided until the fall of 1864, when he moved back to Abingdon, Knox County, Ill., engaged in trade as druggist and grocer. In the spring of 1867 he returned to Kansas, settling in Riley County on a farm in Zeandal Township, then a part of Wabaunsee County, where he still resides. During the Rebellion he was in the employ of the Quartermaster's Department of the army for one year. he is a member of the Knights of Honor. He was married July 4, 1860, at Auburn, Kan., to Miss Helen M. Thomas, who bore him five children. Mrs. Foltz died in March, 1866, and he again, August 23, 1877, entered the marriage state, allying himself with Miss Mattie E. Whitney, of Riley County. They have one child - Mildred, born March 14, 1882.

CAPTAIN WILLIAM GORDON, farmer, P. O. Bala, was born in Ireland, February 6, 1833. He came to America in 1847, joining his parents who had preceded him in Philadelphia. They lived in Montgomery County, Pa., in 1851, at Philadelphia. He enlisted in the United States Army, and was assigned to Company I of the First Dragoons. He served in New Mexico until the expiration of his term of enlistment, being discharged from Fort Thornton. He returned to Weston, Mo., and was soon afterwards employed in the Quartermasters Department of the Army of Fort Leavenworth. He was sent to Fort Riley, where he continued in Government employ from July, 1856, to August, 1858. He then settled on a farm in Township 9, Range 4, being in Riley County, where he lived until the spring of 1860. He spent the summer of that year in Colorado, returning in the fall. In December, 1861, he enlisted as a private in Company F of the Sixth Kansas Cavalry Regiment. After a months service he was commissioned Second Lieutenant of the Company, was promoted to First Lieutenant in July, 1862, and to Captain soon after; he served two years, and was forced to resign on account of disability from wounds and disease. He returned to Riley County and settled on a farm in Township 9, Range 5, where he is still living, engaged in farming and stock-raising. He is well-fixed and raises cattle, horses and swine. He was Township Trustee in 1866. He is a member of the Masonic order and the Grand Army of the Republic. He was married April 6, 1861, in Riley County, to Miss Jane Thompson. They have five children - Ellen May, John Ross, Katie Belle, William Robey, and Rutherford B. Hayes. The Captain and his excellent wife have reared two orphan children of a soldier, whose parents died during the war. They have just past their majority, and have been kindly cared for and are good children.

J. H. JENKINS, druggist, Bala, was born in Wales, November 6, 1840. He was educated at New Kingswood College, Bath, England. After graduating, he was engaged in the service of various banking-houses of Wales and England as accountant and teller. IN 1868 he resigned his position as receiving teller in the Provincial Bank of England and came to America, settling at Utica, N. Y., where he was employed for a year as accountant in the wholesale drug trade by Comstock Bros. In 1870 he came to Kansas, living six months in Osage County, and settling in the fall of that year in Bala, Riley County, he established a drug store, and in the spring of 1882 opened another at Leonard. Both of these store he still owns, and does a thriving trade in both . Is also engaged in real estate and loan business. He was married April 9, 1872, to Miss Elizabeth H. Jenkins, of Riley County. They have one child - Isaac John, born October 1, 1882. Has probably the most extensive notary public practice in the county.

R. H. MOODY, P. O. Vinton, was born in North Carolina, May 10, 1822. Began to preach at the age of twenty-one. Preached eight years in Caldwell County, N. C. Was educated at Furman University, in Greenville, S. C. Taught school in the academy at Waynesville, N. C., six years, and preached on Sunday till the war commenced; then returned to his farm in North Carolina, where he continued to preach during the war. Went and preached some time in Livingston County, Mo. returned home and preached till 1877; then removed to Kansas and engaged in farming and preaching. Preached some months in Carroll County, Mo. Was married in Caldwell County, N. C., to Miss B. B. Chambers, a native of Illinois. They never had but sixteen children - John (deceased), Mary E., Nancy F., Jane E., Cynthia E., William E., Robert H., Thomas L. (deceased), Marcus D., James N., Caleb J., Rachel B. (deceased), Joseph C., Sarah L., Josephine C., Horace A. Nine of the family are members of the Baptist Church. William, James and Caleb are now at William Jewel College, Mo.

SOLOMON SECREST, farmer and merchant, Randolph, was born in Canton Zurich, Switzerland, December 30, 1834. In 1846 his parents removed to Jackson County, Ind., where he lived until September, 1856, when he moved to Kansas, settling on a claim a few miles up Fancy Creek, where he still resides. Mr. Secrest is owner of one of the best farms in Kansas. In 1864 he built a large stone dwelling-house, the first one built on the creek, hauling the lumber, shingles, etc., from the Missouri River. In 1864 he served in the Kansas State Militia in a campaign against the Indians of Western Kansas. From 1869 to 1873 he was one of the Justices of the Peace for Jackson Township. In 1879 he opened a general store in Randolph, where he is ably assisted by his son, John. Mr. Secrest still makes farming and stock-raising his chief business. IN March, 1861, he was married to Miss Melvina Dealy, of Marshall County. They have six children living - Cara, John, Edwin, William, Emma and Viola. Mr. Secrest is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and the neat little church adjoining his farm was built largely by his aid and influence. In politics he is a Republican, sharing in the struggle then existing to make Kansas a Free-State, and he now has the satisfaction of seeing the young commonwealth grow both thrifty and populous.

WILLIAM H. SIKES, merchant, Leonardville, was born in Du Page County, Ill., August 1, 1858. His father was a minister of the Congregational Church, and consequently often moved from place to place. The youth of Mr. Sikes was spent in Michigan until 1870, when his parents removed to Kansas. He was educated at the Kansas Agricultural College, graduating in the class of 1879. After graduation, he taught in the public schools of Wamego one year, and then, in partnership with Mr. Landon, opened a store of general merchandise at the town of Garrison. In 1881 Mr. Sikes bought the interest of his partner, and soon after removed the stock to the new town of Leonard, Riley County, where we still find him in business. He resigned the postmastership at Garrison on removing to Leonard. He is also, in addition to his other business, engaged in the live-stock trade, buying, shipping and selling in the Eastern market. He does a good business, and is a rising man.

Wednesday, February 08, 2006


JOHN A. ALLEN, merchant, was born in Roxbury (now Boston Highlands), Mass., June 11, 1842. In 1854 his parents removed to Kansas, stopping for a time in Riley County, but soon after settling in Pottawatomie. He enlisted in August, 1863, in Company G of the Eleventh Kansas Volunteer Infantry (afterwards Cavalry), and served three years, having been discharged June 13, 1866. After the war he farmed until 1872, when he entered the service of the Kansas Pacific Railroad, at Manhattan station, where he remained two years. He then became an organizer for the Sons of Temperance, and for a year, 1876-77, was engaged in lecturing, organizing in that time over thirty divisions. In 1878 was appointed manager of the Grange Co-operative Store, and has conducted the business with ability and fidelity since. In 1882 he was a delegate to the Republican State Convention, and helped to nominate the great temperance apostle, J. P. St. John, for Governor of the State. Is a member of the Masonic order. Was married January 13, 1879, at Kansas City, Mo., to Miss Belle P. Perry, of Manhattan.

JOHN A. ANDERSON, M. C., was born in Washington County, Pa., June 26, 1834. He was educated at Oxford, Ohio, Miami University, graduated in the class of 1853. His grandfather was a noted Presbyterian clergyman, as was also his father. The profession seemed a heritage in the family to be handed down from father to son, and young John became the third of his line to embrace the sacred calling. His first pastorate was in California, to which State he removed in 1862, locating at Stockton. A few months later he entered the Army as a chaplain in the Third California Infantry, and served in that capacity about one year. At the end of this period a wider field of usefulness was presented to him by the Sanitary Commission, which he accepted. His first duty was that of relief agent of the twelfth Army Corps. He was next transferred to the New York central office, and while there it was a portion of his duties to write up for the newspaper the great fairs held in the interest of the Commission in New York, Boston, Philadelphia, and other large cities. When Grant began his march through the wilderness, Mr. Anderson was made superintendent of transportation. He had under his command half a dozen steamers. He was required to have the supplies as convenient to the wounded as possible, and the movement of the steamers up one river and down another, and along the dangerous coast, through torpedoes and amid ambuscades, necessitated a daring and skill equal to that of any other possible duty. Upon the completion of this campaign he edited for a time a paper in Philadelphia, called the Sanitary Commission Bulletin. At the close of the war he was transferred to the Historical Bureau of the Commission at Washington. He remained there a twelve-month, collecting data and writing a portion of the Commissions history. In 1866, at the close of his labors with the Sanitary Commission, he was appointed statistician of the Citizens Association of Pennsylvania. This was an organization for the purpose of relieving the suffering resulting from pauperism, vagrancy, and crime in large cities. He served two years, visiting jails, penitentiaries, alms-houses, asylums, publishing the results of his observations, and contributing to the scientific world, valuable information and some important conclusions on the great social questions involved. Early in 1868, Mr. Anderson removed to Kansas, where, in 1873, he was made President of the Kansas State Agricultural College at Manhattan. When Mr. Andersons name was first proposed in this connection, he declined on the ground of want of experience as an educator. After long and careful consideration of the whole subject, he accepted, and instead of following in the old grooves with the customary results, he inaugurated a new departure, that bids fair to exert a lasting influence on educational affairs. This position he retained until his election to Congress at the close of the next decade. Here his career as a politician begins, but it is fitting, before going furhter, that his methods as a preacher should receive some attention. It may be assumed that his sermons were scholarly rather than intense; in other words, they affected the mind more than the heart, but all agree that they were able productions. His manners were rather unclerical, in that he disregarded many conventionalities erroneously supposed to hedge about a clerical life. For this reason there were some who misunderstood him. But those who know him well are aware that it took much persuasion to induce Mr. Anderson to temporarily leave the ministry for the college, it required even more to induce him to allow his name of be used as a candidate for Congress, but his friends are satisfied that he is even better fitted to succeed in his present sphere than in the one he has heretofore adorned. His first canvas was made at a trying period in the history of the party. Resumption had been ordered, but it was not an accomplished fact, and his predecessor was one of the leaders of the Greenback Republicans. He, however, visited and spoke in every organized county ion his district, the largest and most populous in the United States, and received the largest majority then ever given in the district. Great efforts were made by the corruptionists of the district to prevent his re-nomination, but when the convention met he received the votes of all but two counties. He again canvassed his district even more thoroughly than before, and was re-elected by the largest majority ever received by a Republican candidate for Congress. In debate he is aggressive rather than conservative, is a fluent and ready talker, and always fortifies himself well with facts before rising to speak on any subject. In the present House he stands third on the Agricultural Committee, and second on the Committee on Post-offices and Post Roads. During the long discussion which grew out of the apportionment of the House for the next decade, Mr. Andersons amendment fixing the number at 325 was adopted, it being considered the fairest and most practicable of any suggested. As a member of the Postal Committee, Mr. Anderson labored zealously for the passage of a bill reducing the rate of postage from three to two cents. His argument was that there is no occasion for the Post-office Department to be self-sustaining; that the greatest good of the greatest number should be the distinguishing characteristics of all governments, and that at the present rate of income the national debt would be entirely liquidated in twenty years more. In this it will be seen that his sympathies are with the masses - with the poor rather than the rich - especially in such unjust legislation as the extension of bank charters and the little revenue bill. During the present session, Mr. Anderson has urged the passage of a bill to compel the Kansas Pacific Railway to pay to the Government the cost of location, survey, and patents on lands received as subsidy, and to pay taxes on the same to the State of Kansas. Under the present law this great monopoly has been given land to the extent of millions of acres from the public domain, and yet the State derives no revenue from these lands in the way of taxes until the company shall have sold them to private individuals. In the debate on the River and Harbor Appropriation Bill, the passage of which has been the subject of great speculation during the past fortnight, Mr. Anderson advocated liberal appropriations for the Mississippi and Missouri rivers, while strenuously opposing extravagant expenditures for streams that are not national in character. In short, John Anderson is a useful man in whatever capacity he may serve, whether it be in the ministry, in the halls of Congress, as a public educator, or in the walks of private life.

J. H. BARNES, farmer, P .O. Manhattan, was born in Billerica, Mass., April 3, 1840, and was educated in the Lawrence High School. In 1854 he came to Riley County, Kan., and engaged in farming. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company G, Eleventh Kansas Volunteer Infantry. The regiment was afterward mounted, and Mr. Barnes was made saddler of the regiment with the rank of Sergeant. Was discharged by reason of the expiration of his term of service in August, 1865, and again began operation of his farm. In 1877 he went into the mercantile business, as agent of the Manhattan Grange, and carried on their store for two years. He then became manager of Gen. J. S. Casements magnificent stock farm of over 3,000 acres, 633 acres being in the Blue Valley, and still manages the generals great interests. The farm is run as a dairy stock farm, supplying the local markets and shipping supplies to Denver. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. Was married in Manhattan, Kan., April 28, 1867, to Miss Mary L. Hubbard, of Caton, N. Y.

WILLIAM H. BOWER was born in New York City, October 13, 1829. When a child, his parents moved onto a farm in Chatham, N. J., where he was educated in the academy of that place. At about the age of seventeen he went to learn the cabinet-making business, and served an apprenticeship of four years. He then went West to South Bend, Ind., and Southern Michigan, and worked a year. In 1850-51 he traveled through Illinois, and returned to his old home, where he remained until July, 1854, when he traveled West, through Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas, looking upon the site of Leavenworth, then covered with a forest just beginning to be cleared away for the future city. Returning to Illinois, he worked for a time at Jerseyville, but the next spring, 1855, he again traveled through Southern Illinois, and finally located at Springfield, where he lived until February, 1858, when he came to Riley County stay. He settled at Manhattan, and worked as a contractor and builder until the war, when he enlisted as a private, in April, 1861, in Company B of the Second Kansas Volunteer Infantry. He served six month, when the regiment was mustered out by reason of the expiration of term of service. He was in the regiment sent against the Indians in July, 1864, and in the militia of the Price raid,in October of that year. In November, 1861, he was elected Clerk of the District Court, and re-elected in 1863, serving four years in that office, meanwhile acting as Deputy County Clerk and Register of Deeds. He has been City Marshal and Collector of Taxes, and is now a member of the City Council, which office he has before filled. In 1875 he opened his present business, undertaker, in the city of Manhattan. He belongs to the Odd Fellows. He was married September 24, 1862, to Miss Hannah H. Hornby, of Manhattan.They have one child - Mary C., born September 19, 1863.

H. F. CHRISTY, attorney, was born July 30, 1842, in Butler County, Pa., and on April 21,1861, enlisted at West Sunbury, Pa., in the Dixon Guards, which afterwards became Company C of the Eleventh Regiment Pennsylvania Reserves. The regiment was first sent to Camp Wright, near Pittsburg (sic), where it remained until after the first battle of Bull Run, when it was ordered to Washington, where it arrived July 19, 1861, and was immediately placed on garrison duty at Tennallytown until October, when the whole division of Pennsylvania Reserves crossed the chain bridge into Virginia, and took up winter quarters on the Leesburg Pike. At Gaines Mills, June 27, 1862, the Eleventh Regiment held a part of the original line of battle while the army was being transferred to the south side of the Chickahominy. Just at dusk of that disastrous day, being entirely cut off from the rest of the army, almost the entire regiment was captured. Mr. Christy was one of those who were sent to Castle Thunder, where he remained several weeks, being sent thence to Belle Isle, remaining there until exchanged (about August 4) with 3,000 others. He reached Aikens Landing on the James River, the point of exchange, after a march of more than twenty miles, without shoes or stockings, having only a blouse and pants, even shirt and cap having been appropriated by his captors. Rejoining his regiment in time for the Fredericksburg fiasco under Burnside, he was again captured by Stonewall Jacksons men, and confined in Libby Prison for six weeks when he was paroled, and reaching Annapolis, was placed on detached service until discharged June 13, 1864. After leaving the army, he engaged in the oil business at Oil City, Pa., for some time, when he removed to Ohio and engaged with the Graffton Iron Company at Leetonia, Ohio. Mr. Christys first visit to Kansas was in 1870, but in 1871 he returned to Ohio, and again engaged in the coal and iron business, becoming treasurer of the Leetonia Iron and Coal Company, at Leetonia. On the failure of this corporation, he turned his attention to the law, and was admitted to the bar in 1874 at Canfield, Mahoning County, Ohio. He at once began practice at Leetonia, Columbiana County, continuing there until 1879, when he returned to Kansas, locating at Manhattan, and is now in charge of the insurance department of Hon. E. B. Purcell. Mr. Christy is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and was the first Commander of Lew Gove Post, No. 100, G. A. R. He is a member of the Kansas bar, and though a staunch Republican, does not take an active or prominent part in politics.

HARLAN P. DOW, real estate, loan and insurance agent, and Deputy United States Collector of Internal Revenue, was born in Otsego County, N. Y., February 20, 1840. He was educated at Hartwick Seminary, in his native county. At the age of seventeen, his parents, Daniel and Sarah Dow, moved to Page County, Iowa, where he attended Amity College, but did not graduate. He taught school until the war began, when he entered the army and enlisted August 18, 1861, in Company E, Kimballs Regiment in Missouri service. On the organization of the regiment, he was made Second Lieutenant. The regiment was discharged at the expiration of his term of enlistment - six months - and Mr. Dow re-entered the service as a private in Company C of the Fourth Missouri Cavalry (M. S. M.), and again after six months service, was commissioned Second Lieutenant; served three years and was discharged by reason of expiration of term of service. In April, 1865, he was commissioned by Gov. Fletcher, of Missouri, as Captain of a company of State troops, engaged in guarding railroads and bridges until August, 1865, when his military career was finally concluded, his company being mustered out. After the war he returned to Iowa and engaged in farming. In May, 1869, he removed to Kansas, settling on a farm, near the center of Riley County. In 1873 he was elected a member of the Kansas House of Representatives, and in 1874 to the Senate, and in 1876 he was re-elected to a term of four years, but resigned in 1878. On being appointed Deputy United States Collector for the Third Revenue Division of the district of Kansas, he soon after his appointment removed to Manhattan, where he now resides. He belongs to the I. O. O. F., G. A. R., and United Order Ancient Templars, of which he is Supreme Vice-Templar. He was married July 25, 1860, at College Springs, Page County, Iowa, to Miss Nannie M. Brown. They have four children - George H. born August 9, 1861; Minnie Weber, born December 3, 1866; Albert H., born August 11, 1868; Helen Pearl, born October 14, 1871.

GEORGE T. FAIRCHILD, A. M., president of the Kansas State Agricultural College, was born in Brownhelm, Lorain County, Ohio, October 6, 1838. His father was a farmer and a teacher. There were four sons and four daughters, of whom President Fairchild was the youngest. Two of his brothers are also college presidents. The next older, James H. Fairchild, was for years the presiding officer at Oberlin; E. H. Fairchild at Berea, Ky. He was educated at Oberlin College, graduating in the class of 1862; studied theology in the same institution, graduating in 1865. In the same year he was elected instructor in the Michigan Agricultural College, and the next year was made professor of English Literature, which chair he ably filled until 1879, when he was called by the Board of Regents to the presidency of the Kansas Agricultural College. This position was unsolicited, the first intimation he had of the honor being the notice by telegraph of his appointment. In addition to his official duties, he fills the chair of Logic and Political Economy. He was ordained to the ministry in the Congregational Church in 1870, but owing to his professional duties, has not regularly entered the work. He was married November 25, 1858, on the fiftieth anniversary of his parents marriage, the golden wedding, at the old homestead of his parents, to Miss Charlotte Halstead, a classmate in college. They have five children, all living.

GEORGE H. FAILYER, M. S., professor of chemistry and physics in the Kansas State Agricultural College, was born in Manhaska County, Iowa, December 14, 1849. He was educated in the college with which he is now connected, graduating at the head of his class in 1877. In 1878 he was appointed to his present professorship, and has been in charge since. Under his management the equipment of the chemical department of the college has been greatly enlarged and its efficiency increased. He is one of the foremost men of the State in his department of learning, and is popular with the faculty and students.

ISAAC T. GOODNOW was born in Whitingham, Windham Co., Vt., January 17, 1814. At the age of fourteen, he lost his father and by farm and factory labor supported himself and aided his mother and sisters. He was a merchants clerk in Marlboro, Vt., and Colerain, Mass., several years. Spent several winters in school and his leisure hours in reading and study. In 1832 he united with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1834, after some preliminary study, he walked fifty miles to Wilbraham Academy, Mass., and entered that popular institution. With this he was connected till 1848, first as pupil then as teacher in the primary and English department; and in the last ten years as professor in the natural sciences, having previously also taught with success in Oxford, Maine, Chicapee and West Springfield, Mass. He was now called to the same professorship in Providence Seminary, East Greenwich, R. I., where he remained till 1855, establishing a reputation as a successful teacher, skillful experimenter, and attractive lecturer, and a faithful but kind disciplinarian. Not confining himself to his special department, he as a matter of choice, for self improvement, instructed classes in Greek, rhetoric, mental and moral science, mathematics, etc., pursuing at the same time a course of untiring self-culture. In twenty years the pupils in his own classes numbered some 6,000. In 1845, he received the honorary degree of Master of Arts from the Wesleyan University, Middleton, Conn. In 1838 he was married to Miss Ellen D. Denison, of Colerain, Mass., daughter of Major David Denison, and sister of Rev. Joseph Denison, D. D. In the winter of 1854-51, with his brother-in-law, Rev. J. Denison, he entered wit hall his energies into the Kansas struggle; wrote the first appeal in Zions Herald of Boston to the Anti-slavery men of New England, taking the ground that upon the prairies of Kansas was to be fought the great battle between slavery and freedom; that as went Kansas, so would the nation go; that the crusaders of freedom must rush to this battle field to the rescue. In March, 1855, he went in advance of a colony and selected the present site of Manhattan for their location, which was held in spite of a border ruffian raid; and the votes of his company, March 30, 1855, essentially aided in the election of S. D. Houston and Martin F. Conway, the only Free-State members of the first Territorial Legislature of Kansas. He was a member of hue first celebrated Laurence (sic)Free-State Convention August 14-15, 1855, of the Leavenworth Constitutional Convention. It was a favorite object with him and Rev. J. Denison and W. Marlatt to establish a great central college. They secured a site of 160 acres and the Blue Mont Central College Association was chartered, in 1858, and in 1860 a building capable of accommodating 250 students was completed, and a library and apparatus secured ,all costing some $20,000, mainly the result of three years untiring effort on the part of Prof. Goodnow among his Eastern friends. While the building was in an unfinished state, in the winter of 1859-60, the first school was successfully commenced by Rev. W. Marlatt as principal and upon his resignation Mr. Goodnow was elected president in 1861, and the institution continued to flourish. In March, 1861, he was the agent at Manhattan to secure the location of the State University, which failed by the veto of Gov. Robinson. November 5, 1861, he was elected Representative to the Second Kansas Legislature. In 1869 he was appointed land commissioner of the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway Company, still holding his position as college agent till 1873, and as commissioner till 1876, having sold one and one-half million dollars worth of land. In 1877 he returned to his rural home, beautifully located upon high ground between the old and new college buildings, and overlooking the city of Manhattan, two miles away. There he finds full employment in laboring upon his little farm, and in the enjoyment of a fine library and the numerous friends that his pursuits and public business have secured him. He is well supplied with the newspapers and periodicals of the day and consequently thoroughly posted upon all passing events.He takes special interest in benevolent enterprises of the day, devoting one-tenth of all incomes to charitable purposes, having systematically practiced this for the last forty-four years. November 4, 1862, he was elected State Superintendent of Public Instruction, and was an active participant in the contest that located the State Agricultural College at Manhattan in 1863, with its endowment of 90,000 acres of choice land. This was accomplished by the donation of Blue Mont College building, etc., to the State. As Superintendent he traveled the first year in his own conveyance 4,000 miles, lecturing in twenty-nine counties, visiting schools of every grade, consulting school officers, acquainting the people with their school system and stirring them up to immediate action. In 1864 he was re-elected by a heavy majority. The statistics of the several years of his school administration, amid war, raids, and invasions, show a record of improvement such as no other State under similar circumstances ever effected. In 1867 he was appointed agent for the sale of land belonging to the Agricultural College, and in three years sold enough to create an endowment fund yielding $18,000 a year, devoted expressly to the payment of the professors. The Anti-slavery and temperance causes with him have been specialties from the first. He was among the 7,000 who voted for James G. Birney, the first Liberty party candidate for President in the great Harrison campaign of 1840; and his voting ever since has been in accord with these great principles. In short he has still a lively interest in the mental, moral and physical improvement of the human race.

PROF. IRA D. GRAHAM, superintendent of telegraphy in the Kansas Agricultural College, was born in Benton County, Iowa, August 29, 1855. Educated at Abingdon College, Abingdon, Ill., leaving the institution, on account of business, but a few days before graduating. He immediately entered the service of the Western Union Telegraph Company and remained three years. He then taught in the public schools of Illinois two years; and in 1878, came to Kansas and taught a year at Elmdale, Chase County. In 1879 he was appointed to his present position, and has been in the chair since. He is secretary of the Faculty, and bookkeeper to the Board of Regents. He is now devoting his leisure to the study of natural history, to which department he expects to devote his future life work. Is as correspondent of eminent scientists in Switzerland, Germany and London. He has made collections in geology, entomology and zoology, and is a practical taxidermist. He was married at Manhattan, June 12, 1882, to Miss Mary McConnell of Topeka.

ROBERT J. HARPER, Clerk of the District Court of Riley County, was born in Ross County, Ohio, October 25, 1823. The Judge was raised a farmers boy, obtained a fair education and spent several years in teaching in the public schools of Ohio. In 1847 he removed to Des Moines County, Iowa, where he taught school for two years and after entered into commercial pursuits. In February, 1859, he came to Kansas and in May of the same year settled at Manhattan. The same fall he was elected to the office of County Clerk and Register of Deeds for Riley County, which offices he filled for two years. August 25, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Company G, of the Eleventh Kansas Volunteer Infantry, and on the organization of the regiment he was appointed Regimental Quartermaster Sergeant September 23, 1863. He was commissioned First Lieutenant and Regimental Commissary of Subsistence. He was on detached service during a large part of his term of service as Post Quartermaster at Independence, Mo., and as Commissary of Subsistence on the staffs of Generals McKean, Sikes and Blunt. He was finally discharged from service August 19, 1865, and returned to his home in Manhattan. In 1867 he was elected to the offices of Probate Judge and Clerk of the District Court. He has held the latter office continuously until the present time, and was Judge of Probate Court until January, 1879. He has been a member of the City Council several terms and is now Treasurer of the city government. He is a member of the G. A. R. He was married July 21, 1862, at Woodburn, Ill., to Miss Catharine F. Pierce. They have no children by birth, but have two adopted daughters, Josie and Nellie Maud, who grace their elegant home in the city.

GEORGE W. HARROP, druggist, was born at Pittsburg (sic), Pa., August 17, 1848. When a child, his parents moved to Gallipolis, Ohio, where he lived until the age of twenty years. He was brought up to the business of pharmacy. In 1869, he moved to Leavenworth, Kan., and clerked in Browns drug store until 1871, when he and a brother began business for themselves in the same line, in South Leavenworth. In September 1875, he moved to Manhattan and bought a drug store on Poyntz Avenue. He has a fine store and business, and is popular and prosperous. He is a member of the City Council, and belongs to the I. O. O. F. and K. of P. He was married November 21, 1872, at Leavenworth, to Miss Fannie Brown. They have one child - George Bertrand, born August 7, 18732.

WILLIAM C. JOHNSTON, druggist, was born in Moscow, Clermont Co., Ohio, September 28, 1844. Attended the common schools until September 4, 1862, when he enlisted in the First Ohio Volunteer Independent Battery, served in the Army of the Potomac, Eighth Army Corps, and was discharged July 1, 1865. Returned to Ohio and entered the Mount Hygiene College at Clermontville, Ohio, where he was a student for a year. In December 1866, he came to Kansas, settling in Manhattan, and engaged as a clerk in a drug store. In 1868, he opened business in the same line on his own account, on the south side of Poyntz Avenue, where he has a very fine store and a fine trade. He is a member of the K. of P., K. of H. and K. & L. of H., having been the first presiding officer of each of these orders in the Manhattan lodges. He was married January 2, 1872, at Manhattan, to Miss Myra J. Dimmock. They have one child - Nellie.

J. W. KING, merchant, is a native of Indiana, and came to Kansas with his parents in 1857, locating upon a farm in Pottawatomie County, where he remained until 1867, when they removed to Riley County. Mr. King was engaged for upwards of nine years in running a horse-power (and subsequently steam) threshing machine, but in 1879 he went into the furniture business in Manhattan, although he still continues to have his men engaged upon the thresher during the season. He is the owner of several dwelling-houses in town and has lately fitted up a commodious hall above his store (which is a two-story stone building), suitable for society meetings, etc. His town property is valued at $4,000 to $5,000. Mr. King is essentially a self-made and self-educated man, and affords another example of what can be accomplished by perseverance and industry. He is a P. W. P. of the Western Star Division, Sons of Temperance, and has done much to sustain and strengthen it.

CHARLES F. LITTLE, M. D., was born in Milford, Hillsboro Co., N. H., January 27, 1836. At the age of three years, his parents removed to Kewanee, Henry Co., Ill., where he was educated in the high schools of that place. He studied medicine with Dr. T. D. Fitch, and entered Rush Medical College, from whence he graduated in the class of 1863. He was commissioned as First Assistant Surgeon of the Nineteenth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, February 16, 1863, and served with the Regiment until their term of service expired in July 1864, when he began practice in Princeton, Ill. In July 1866, he came to Manhattan, Kan., and has been in continuous practice here since. In 1875, he was elected a member of the Kansas House of Representatives, serving with ability and fidelity to the trust. He was a member of the Committee on Railroads and also of the Committee on Legislature Appointment. He is a member of the firm of T. E. Williams & Co., druggists. He is a member of the Masonic order and the G. A. R. He was married February 22, 1866, at Princeton, Ill., to Miss Charlotte Swift. They have four children - Elsie Ada born June 22, 1867; Nellie P., December 15, 1868; Jennie Belle, October 87, 1871, and Frederick Swift, June 25, 1873.

SAMUEL LONG, merchant, was born in Carroll County, Ohio, November 16, 1833. In 1855, he removed to Minnesota, and after two years came to Kansas, settling in Manhattan in that year. He enlisted in September 1862 in Company G of the Eleventh Kansas Volunteer Infantry, which was afterward changed to Cavalry. He served three years and was discharged at the close of the war, having in 1864 been promoted to the office of Second Lieutenant. He was elected Sheriff of Riley County in 1859, re-elected in 1861, and was serving his second term, when he entered the army, abandoning the emoluments of the office for the service of his country. After the war he became a farmer, but after four years of farm life he again moved to town and began business as a merchant, which he still pursues, carrying at the present time a fine stock, exclusively of boots and shoes. In 1880, he was elected County Commissioner for a short term of one year and declined a re-election the following year. He has been for years a member of the City Council. He is a Mason in good standing. He was married in Manhattan, February 3, 1861, to Miss C. J. Huntress. They have three children - Mary, born July 17, 1862; Albina, born April 9, 1867, and Susie, born October 12, 1875.

Saturday, February 04, 2006


The number of societies , temperance, literary, musical, agricultural and social are very considerable, as might be expected from as earnest, active, intelligent and progressive a people as are found within the limits of Riley County.

Temperance. - The Western Star Division, No. 1, S. of T. was organized in 1858; the Young Peoples Temperance Alliance, in 1877; Prohibition Phalanx No. 9, and the Womans Christian Temperance Union, each in 1880; Manhattan Temple, No. 18, A. O. U. T., in 1881; D. E. Lantz is Templar; Charles Marvin, Recorder of the last named lodge. The colored people have a lodge of Good Templars.

Kaw Valley District Medical Society. - This organization was effected June 17, 1880. The district is composed of Riley, Pottawatomie, Wabaunsee, Davis and Clay counties. It embraces graduates of medical colleges, and its object is to increase and diffuse the usefulness of the science and art of medicine and surgery, and to harmonize the intercourse of the medical profession within the district. The officers chose were: H. P. Woodward of Wamego, President; C. F. Little of Manhattan, VIce-President; J. W. Thayer of Ogden, Secretary; J. Greene of Alma, Treasurer. Its membership in 1882 was thirty-five. L. J. Lyman of Manhattan is President; Dr. Beach of Junction City, Vice-President; J. W. Thayer, Secretary and Treasurer.

Riley County Bible Society. - Depository at A. J. Whitfords store, Manhattan.

Young Mens Christian Association. - Reading room open every evening, Sundays excepted. Dr. S. D. Rose, President; A. F. Blair, Vice-President; Charles D. Marvin, Secretary; E. M. Fairchild, Treasurer.

Blue Mont Farmers Club. - This organization near Manhattan was effected January 31, 1872. Its officers were Frederick E. Miller, President; O. W. Bill, VIce-President; C. W. Kimball, Recording Secretary; Washington Marlatt, Corresponding Secretary; G. C. Campbell, Treasurer. Its object were: First, to cultivate more intimate social relation among the farmers, and more especially among the members of the club. Second, to discuss topics relating to practical agriculture in all its branches and diversified interest. Third, to form a nucleus of an organization, with a view to a concert of action with the farmers throughout the county and State for the advancement and protection of their special interests. This has become a corporate body under the law of Kansas. At its meetings there have been essays and discussions covering almost the entire round of practical agriculture in Kansas.

The Blue and Kansas Valley Agricultural Society was organized in 1869, and it holds a fair each year. The fair grounds embrace a forty-acre park in the western part of the city, and but a little distance removed from the Agricultural College farm. Riley County can show in horses, neat cattle, sheep, swine, fowls, in vegetables, grains, and fruits, as choice a selection as anywhere exist. In 1881, it was The Blue Ribbon County, receiving in September, 1880, a premium of $1,000, from the Western National Fair Association at the Bismarck fair ground for the county in Kansas, making the fullest and best general display of its products at its fair, eight counties entering the list of competitors: Apples of 100 varieties; pears, 20; grapes, 12; peaches, 9; Irish potatoes 16; squashes, 11; beets, 8; peppers, 6; turnips and sweet potatoes, each 5; pumpkins, 4; tomatoes, 3; wheat, 26; corn, 12; oats, 6; rye, 3; native woods, 33; specimens of stuffed birds, 88; of animals, 17; fine specimens of Riley County magnesia limestone. There were 60 choice hogs, 32 head of cattle, 17 horses, 40 coops of poultry. All these and immensely more of various specimens were on exhibition.

Farmers Convention Granges. - March 26, 1873, a State convention of farmers was held at Topeka. Riley Countys delegates were O. W. Bill, W. Fisher, Washington Marlatt and Edward Secrest. The animating spirit of the convention is express in the following:

Resolved, That organization is the great want of the producing classes, at the present time, and we recommend every farmer in the State to become a member of some farmers club, grange of the patrons of husbandry, or other local or State organization.

J. A. Cramer, General Deputy of the State Grange, organized granges in the county, and farmers clubs were formed in every portion of this and Pottawatomie counties. The granges were known by the names of Stockdale, Blue Mont, Bala, Zeandale, Wild Cat, May Day, Parallel, Peach Grove, Ogden, Manhattan, Deep Creek, Ashland, Fancy Creek, Prairie Rose, Madison, McDowell, Rocky Ford and Fairview.

George T. Polson was Master of Riley County Patrons of Husbandry in 1873, and its Trustees were: N. B. White, of Blue Mont Grange; Solomon Secrest, Fancy Creek; C. S. Caley May Day; A. Sweet, Stockdale; J. H. Pinkerton, Zeandale.

Co-operative Store. - The Blue and Kansas Valley Merchants Exchange was organized in 1873, at Manhattan, on the Rockdale (England) system. J. A. Limbocker, President; J. S. Randolph, Vice-President; Frederick E. Miller, Secretary; Seth I. Shields, Treasurer. September 16, 1882, the corner-stone was laid for the new two-story grange building of magnesia limestone, which stands as a thing of use and beauty on the south side of Poyntz Avenue, at the southwest corner of Fourth. O. W. Bill, Past Worthy Master, of Riley County Pomona Grange, introduced Prof. E. Gale, as the orator, and W. F. Allen, P. W. M. of the Manhattan Grange No. 748, P. of H., prepared the box for the corner-stone and deposited therein the following contents:

Copy of Nationalist, Independent, Republic, Industrialist, Telephone, Age of Progress, American Grange Bulletin, Proceedings of National Grange, Digest and Ritual of Grange Proceeding of State Grange 1876, other documents relating to insurance, etc., of Grange, bill-heads for Store, blank checks, envelopes, shipping tags, etc., address of Prof. E. Gale, poem of Mrs. Kate R. Hill, and a history of the Manhattan Grange and how the building was erected.

The poem closed as follows:

Oer these gifts, nor poor, nor few -
Oh, ye angels, sweet and true,
Bend a little from the throne,
As we lay this corner-stone;
And cross the mystic border,
Send a good word for the order;
Till adown the earthward track,
Echoes float sublimely back,
And the world to which yere strangers,
Seems a little heaven of - Grangers.

Domestic Science Club. - This organization is well attended and the following is a sample of the subject discussed: Domestic Science, Mrs. Higinbotham; Art, Mrs. Hill; Natural Science, Mrs. Ward; Literature, Mrs. Adams; Education, Mrs. French; Gold Dust from a Book, Mrs. Griffin; General Intelligence, Mrs. Green.

Knights of Labor. - Blue Valley Assembly, No. 1,999, was organized June 17, 1882. The number of its members, October 16, 1882 was about seventy. George B. Hines is Worthy Master; L. C. Stone, Financial Secretary; J. M. Limbocker, Recording Secretary.

Riley County Horticultural Society. - This organization was effected in January, 1874. J. W. Blain was chosen president; E. Gale, secretary. It is one of the very best locality organizations, and its many meetings have largely stimulated fruit-growers in the county to raise the choicest varieties of many kinds of fruit. Premiums at State fairs have yearly been awarded the horticulturists of the county, and at St. Louis, in 1882, several premiums came to men engaged in husbanding in Riley County.

Knights and Ladies of Honor. - Arcadia Lodge, No. 413, was organized by Deputy Supreme Protector H. S. Roberts, March 23, 1881, with forty-three charter members. Its officers were as follows: Protector, W. C. Johnston; Vice-Protector, Mrs. C. F. Briggs; Secretary, William Dalton; Financial Secretary, O. C. Barner; Treasurer, O. Huntress; Guide, Mrs. W. H. Stewart; Chaplain, J. J. Davis; Guardian, Mrs. John Drew; Sentinel B. F. Short; Past Protector, C. F. Briggs; Medical Examiner, Dr. H. S. Roberts; Trustees, J. F. Ellicott, Robert Allingham, Jr., Solomon Whitney. Its officers in 1882 were: Protector, C. F. Briggs; Secretary, O. C. Barner; Financial Secretary, D. G. Lautz.

The Kansas and Blue Valley Poultry and Pet Stock Association. - This joint-stock association was organized in 1879. It gives exhibitions annually.

The Manhattan Coronet Band. - This was organized in 1880.

The Choral Union. - Organized in 1868, it has given many public concerts, and it has developed a great deal of fine musical talent.

The Manhattan Institute. - This literary society, an organization of the territorial period, has had most benificent (sic) uses. Its assets are a bank deposit of $400; a town lot, $500; a library of 500 volumes, $300. It has the Annals of Congress in neat volumes from 1789 to 1824. R. B. Spilman is President, George C. Wilder, Secretary, and John W. Webb, Treasurer.

Newspapers are a prominent feature of the history of the city and county, and they have been from the early time well encouraged and supported.

The Western Kansas Express. - The first number of this paper was printed at Wyandotte in May, 1859. The press and appurtenances of the office came by steamer on the Kansas River soon after. It was the first Kansas newspaper published west of Topeka. Mr. Charles F. De Vivaldi, an Italian Republican refugee, was the editor and proprietor. In 1860 the paper was called the Manhattan Express. President Lincoln, in 1861, appointed Mr. De Vivaldi Consul to Santos in Brazil. Mr. James Humphrey, now a leading attorney in Junction City, became editor in 1861, and in 1863 Mr. J. H. Pillsbury purchased the paper and called it the Manhattan Independent.

The Kansas Radical. - This paper was started in July, 1866, by Hon. E. C. Manning.

The Manhattan Standard. - Mr. L. R. Elliott, in July, 1868, purchased the Independent of Mr. Pillsbury; on September 13 he purchased the Radical of Manning, consolidating them September 19, into the Standard.

The Nationalist. - Mr. Albert Griffin, in December, 1870, bought the paper of Mr. Elliott, and changed it to the Nationalist, which, in 1882, is an eight-page, seven-column paper, having a large circulation, and being able and valuable as to local news and its bearing on many subjects that interest the general public. It has been all the while Republican.

Real Estate Papers. - The Manhattan Homestead was started in March, 1869, and the Land Register in January, 1870. Both cease to exist. Mr. Elliott is a leading real estate man in Manhattan. Mr. Manning was one of the pioneers of Cowley County, founding the Winfield Courier. Mr. Pillsbury died as the postmaster of Manhattan, and his daughter, Annie M. Pillsbury, is postmistress at this time - 1882.

The Beacon. - Messrs. A. D. and A. G. Goodwin began the publication of the paper in 1872. Mr. L. V. Taft afterwards became its editor, and in 1874 its existence terminated. It was Liberal Republican in politics.

The Manhattan Enterprise. - The first number of this paper was published May 3, 1876, by C. M. Patee and A. L. Runyan, Mr. Runyan being the editor. In January, 1877, Mr. Patee went out of the office, and June 23, 1882, he sold the paper to Mr. George A. Atwood, formerly a newspaper man at Ellsworth, Lawrence and Leavenworth, who changed it into the Republic. It is neatly and ably conducted; in politics, Republican. In October, 1882, Mr. Runyan became connected with the Times, at Clay Center.

The Industrialist. - In April, 1875, this paper, devoted to the interests of the State Agricultural College, was started. It is published by the students in the printing department of the college; edited by the faculty, E. M. Shelton being its managing editor. It is a neat four-page, four-column paper.

The Telephone. - In June, 1880, Rev. R. D. Parker established this paper as a monthly, devoted to the interests of church and home. Mr. Parker makes this an organ especially of the Congregationalists.

The Independent. - This is a neat eight-column quarto, published by Messrs. A. Southwick & Co. It is devoted to the principles of the National Greenback Labor party. It was started at Riley Center in January, 1879, as the News. In September it was changed to the Independent, and in November, 1881, was removed to Manhattan. In 1882 it became the official paper of Riley County.

The city of Manhattan is located on an almost level plain, something more than one square mile. Poyntz Avenue, 100 feet in width, is the business part of the place. Juliaette Avenue, south of which on East Poyntz Avenue stands the Court House Square, and north of which stands the Schoolhouse Square, is also 100 feet in width. There are five other streets 100 feet wide; the others are sixty feet in width. The lots are 50x150 feet; the blocks 315x400 feet, with a fifteen-foot alley running east and west through their center. Scattered over the town are modest cottages and palatial residences, tasty church edifices, store buildings of large and small proportions, banks, hotels, mills and elevators, while in the suburbs are many most beautiful and desirable homes. Battery Park, east of the town, by the river, is mostly unimproved. Forest Park, of forty acres, in the western part of the town, is used as the fair grounds of the Blue and Kansas Valley Agricultural Society.

Railroad Depot. - Manhattan has as yet but one passenger depot. There are two railroad and two wagon-road bridges, one of each across the rivers at the city. The township has a bonded bridge indebtedness of $57,500; of aid to the Agricultural College of $2,500. Its funded previous indebtedness amounted to $55,000.

E. B. Purcell Elevator Improvement, Loan and Trust Company. - This company, incorporated under the laws of Kansas, has for its officers: E. B. Purcell, President; John B. Anderson, Treasurer; James T. Ritchie, Secretary. The elevator is one of the largest in the State, and combines all the late improvements. It has an invention for elevating and cribbing ear corn by machinery. The capacity of the elevator is 25,000 bushels; the corn cribs hold about 15,000 bushels. The corn-sheller can shell 600 bushels of corn per hour.

The Flouring Mill. - This structure, unexcelled in Kansas, stands near the railway depot. It is 32x46 feet, four stories high, with basement. Its engine-house is built of stone, 32x40 feet; one story is above ground. Its engine is a genuine Corliss, from Providence, R. I., 120 horse-power. The office is a two-story frame structure, 24x24 feet; the second story is used for storing sacks and light supplies for the mill and elevator. This company has an elevator and store at St. George, in Pottawatomie County, seven miles east of Manhattan. The elevator is the same as the one at Manhattan. They have branch stores at Wabaunsee, Fairfield and Alma, in the County of Wabaunsee, and they do business of this kind at Ames, Cloud County, on the Central Branch of the Missouri Pacific Railway. The places in Wabaunsee County are on the Manhattan, Alma & Burlingame Railroad.

The Blue Valley Bank. - This is the oldest banking-house in Central Kansas. Its correspondents are among the leading monetary houses in this country. George A. Higinbotham, the son of the banker, William P., is the competent and efficient cashier.

The Blue Valley Mills, the new Grange store building, the Purcell establishment and the Adams House, are the leading central attractive points of business on and about Poyntz Avenue.

The Kansas State Agricultural College. - In 1857 the Blue Mont College Association was chartered to build a college at or near Manhattan, under the management of the Methodist Episcopal Church. The prominent men in the movement were: Rev. Joseph Denison, afterward the president of the college; Isaac T. Goodnow, for four years State Superintendent of Public Instruction; and Washington Marlatt, now a scientific farmer located on College Hill. The college trustees received a large number of Manhattan town lots as a donation to aid the enterprise; and Messrs. Denison and Goodnow, from these returns, and by personal solicitations here and in the Eastern States, secured a considerable amount in personal donations, with which fund a farm was obtained, and a three-story building erected in 1859 on a commanding hill a mile west of the buildings now used by its successor, the Kansas State Agricultural College.

Consequent upon the failure of continued bountiful contributions to the trustees to further the movement, and with a consciousness that denominational institutions of that class in other portions of Kansas needed a specially fostering care, with the disturbed state of affairs throughout the State, the trustees were pleased to offer, in fee simple, this property to the Legislature of 1863, of the State of Kansas, if, by so doing, it could be converted into a State institution, in accordance with an act entitled, An Act donating public lands to the several States and Territories which may provide colleges for the benefit of agriculture and mechanical arts, which gave Kansas 90,000 acres of land for the endorsement, support and perpetual maintenance of not less than one college for agriculture and mechanical purposes.

The Legislature adopted the following joint resolution, which was approved February 3, 1863: - Be it resolved by the Legislature of the State of Kansas, That the provisions of the act of Congress entitled An act donating public lands to the several States and Territories which may provide colleges for the benefit of agriculture and the mechanical arts, approved July 2, 1862, are hereby accepted by the State of Kansas; and the State hereby agrees and obligates itself to comply with all he provisions of said act. The offer of the trustees of Blue Mont College to grant in fee simple the premises to the State, was accepted February 16, 1863, and thus Manhattan became the seat of the college. The grant was really 82,315.53 acres of land, because a portion of the selected lands was within railroad limits, and the college could not obtain a prior claim to nearly 8,000 acres. There have been sold 69,878.29 acres of these lands, fro which there has been realized some $395,000. There remained unsold in 1882, some 12,000 acres, appraised at about $140,000, lying in Riley, Marshall, Washington and Dickinson counties.

Its Re-organization. - The college in 1873 was placed upon a thoroughly industrial basis, practical agriculture and related sciences having a prominence; and in 1875 a change was made from the Blue Mont location to the buildings upon the farm of 171 acres, one mile nearer the city of Manhattan. The value of the building erected by the State reaches $75,000. The college under the care of its founders and donators, had a classic ideal that does not now obtain. The course was laid out for four years, with the usual preparatory. The first published catalogue gave ninety-four students in the preparatory department, and fourteen in the collegiate. Of these seventy-four were from Riley County. Up to 1873, but fifteen students had graduated; some of the reasons being the newness of Kansas, the western location of the school, inadequate means, the fact that industrial education was something of an experiment, and the conductors were classical scholars rather than practical scientists. Little was done for agriculture and the mechanic arts aside from the occasional lectures. The faculty at first consisted of Rev. Joseph Denison, A. M., president, and professor of ancient languages and mental and moral science; J. G. Schnebly, A. M., professor of natural history and lecturer on agricultural chemistry; Rev. N. O. Preston, A. M., professor of mathematics and English literature; J. Evarts Platt, principal of the preparatory department; Miss Belle Haines, assistant teacher in the preparatory department, and Mrs. Eliza C. Beckwith, teacher of instrumental music. Prof. B. F. Mudge was elected of the chair of natural science in 1865. He made a good collection of geological specimens and donated them to the college. In 1866, the United States War Department detailed Brevet-General J. W. Davidson to teach military tactics at the institution, and he was ordered back again in 1868. A veterinary department was organized and put under the management of H. J. Detmers in 1872, but it was discontinued in 1874 for want of patronage. An act of the Legislature, approved March 6, 1873, reconstructed the governments of the several State institutions, and Governor Osborn appointed a new Board. President Denison soon after resigned and Rev. John A. Anderson, of Junction City, became president. A change occurred in the policy of the institution. Agriculture and the mechanic arts took the place of the department of literature. Prof. J. S. Whitman became professor of botany and entomology; Prof. W. R. Kedzic, professor of chemistry and physics, and Prof. M. L. Ward, professor of mathematics. Educational labor became a factor in the new curriculum; a printing office, a telegraph office and a sewing department, and workshops in wood and iron, were fully equipped and provided with instructors. The Industrialist, a weekly paper, edited by the faculty and printed by the printing department, was started April 24, 1875. At this time the course was reduced to four years. In 1876, the laboratory and horticultural building were erected; in 1877, the barn; in 1878, the north wing of the main building; in 1882, the south wing. President Anderson was elected in 1878 to Congress fro the First District of Kansas, and Prof. Ward, as acting president, discharged the duties of the office until December 1, 1879, when Prof. George T. Fairchild, of the Michigan Agricultural College of Lansing, entered upon his duties as president. The faculty in 1882 is as follows: George T. Fairchild, A. M., president, professor of logic and political economy; Milan L. Ward, A. M., professor of mathematics and English, librarian; Edward M. Shelton, M. S., professor of practical agriculture, superintendent of farm; George H. Fallyer, M. S., professor of chemistry and physics; Edwin A. Popenoe, A. M., professor of botany and zoology, superintendent of orchards and gardens; Jeremiah E. Platt, A. M., professor of elementary English and mathematics; Albert Todd, A. M., Lieutenant First United States Artillery, professor of military science and tactics; W. H. Cowles, A. B., instructor in English and history; John D. Walters, instructor in industrial drawing; M. A. Reeve, acting superintendent of the workshops; George F. Thompson, acting superintendent of printing; Ira D. Graham, superintendent of telegraphy, secretary; Mrs. Nellie S. Kedzic, B. S., teacher of household economy and hygiene, superintendent of sewing; William L. Hofer, teacher of instrumental music; Wirt S. Myers, B. S., foreman of farm; Aaron Winder, foreman of gardens; student assistants - Julius T. Willard, chemistry; Mark A. Reeve, carpentry; John Linder, blacksmithing. The following is the Board of Regents for 1882: - Hon. Stephen M. Wood, of Elmdale, Chase County, president of the Board; Hon. A. J. Hoisington, of Great Bend, Barton County, vice-president; Hon. D. C. McKay, of Ames, Cloud County, treasurer; Hon. A. L. Redden, of El Dorado, Butler County, attorney; Hon. Jno. Elliot, of Manhattan, Riley County; Hon. V. V. Adamson, of Holton, Jackson County; President Geo. T. Fairchild (ex officio), secretary; L. R. Elliott, land agent; M. L. Ward, loan commissioner, Manhattan, Riley County.

Fourteen States, and fifty-four counties of Kansas are represented at the college in 1882. The average age of the students is 19.35 years. The following is classification of the students for the year ending June 1882:

Classes: Males. Females. Total.
Special Course . . . . 3 2 5
First Year . . . . . . 168 59 227
Second Year . . . . . 34 16 50
Third Year . . . . . . 12 7 19
Fourth Year . . . . . 7 4 11
---- ---- ----
222 88 312

The tuition is free; and no general fee is charged for incidental or contingent expenses. Payments are required in advance in a few special departments. In analytical chemistry, $3 a term is charged for the chemicals and apparatus used in laboratory practice; in telegraphy, $3 a term for office expenses; in instrumental music, $5 to $14 a term, according to the number of lessons. Labor performed outside of required hours of labor, is paid for at rates from eight to ten cents an hour. The work of the shops and offices is turned to account as far as practicable for the benefit of the students, and the increasing extent of the grounds and sample gardens brings more labor. A few students are able to earn their way through college, who are allowed to work in the shops somewhat for their own profit, in the manufacture of articles for sale or use. Ordinary expenditures, aside from clothing and traveling expenses, range from $60 to $150 a year.

Terms of Admission. - The college year begins with the fall term, about the middle of September, and last fourteen weeks; the winter term of twelve weeks, early in January; the spring term of eleven weeks early in April. Applicants for admission at the beginning of the year, must be at least fourteen years of age, and able to pass a satisfactory examination in reading, spelling, writing, arithmetic to percentage, geography, and elements of English grammar. Those applying later must show sufficient advancement to enter the classes already in progress. Applicants of mature age, who for lack of advantages, are unable to pass the full examination, may be received upon special conditions.

Friday, February 03, 2006


Yesterday, Groundhogs Day, was also Braden and Dalton's 4th Birthday! Happy Birthday boys! We took them to the Yellow River Game Ranch here in Lilburn to let them see our very own weather predicting groundhog, General Beauregard Lee. General Lee did not see his shadow which means an early spring for us here! If you would like to see pictures of Braden and Dalton on their big day please click on the link to the left FAMILY TREE.

Wednesday, February 01, 2006

A funny I read...

A middle aged woman had a heart attack and was taken to the hospital.
While on the operating table, she had a near death experience.

Seeing God, she asked, "Is my time up"? God said, "No, you have another
43 years, 2 months and 8 days to live."

Upon recovery, the woman decided to stay in the hospital and have a
face-lift, brow lift, lip enhancement, boob job, liposuction, and a
tummy tuck. After her last operation,
she was released from the hospital. While crossing the street on her
way home, she was hit and killed by an ambulance.

Arriving in front of God, she demanded, "I thought you said I had
another 40 years? Why didn't you pull me out of the path of the

God replied, "Girrrlllllll, I didn't even recognize you!"


Manhattan Township embraces about 40 square miles. On this territory is the beautiful city of Manhattan, around which blessings gather in the greatest profusion. No such limited area in Kansas, has more of the combined works of nature and art to commend it than the township of Manhattan. Watered by the Big Blue and Kansas rivers, and Wild Cat Creek, in their circuitous courses: its bottomlands are very extensive. South of the Kansas, Mount Prospect rises almost to a perpendicular height of more than 200 feet above the river, and from this sightly eminence may be viewed scenes that are perfectly enchanting. To the east and southeast lies the unrivaled Kaw Valley, dotted with improved fields, beautiful and commodious stone farm dwellings, expansive barns and extensive orchards, the scene so enrapturing as to suggest Pisgahs heights, with its surrounding fertile, meandering vales. Blue Mont, to the north of the city of Manhattan, is less precipitous than Mount Prospect but nearly as high; it stands a perpetual sentinel over the Big Blue, whose clear and limpid waters lave its base. Here, at the confluence of these two majestic streams is a grandeur in the outlook, and this trysting point where comes the rustling of the autumnal leaves, the melody of the feathered songsters in their harmoniously tuneful notes, and the rippling, gurgling voices of many waters tells one of the great Father of Waters to the east, of the everlasting Rocky Mountains of the west, which the long railway trains of the Kansas Division of the Union Pacific, as they move to Denver on the west, to Kansas City on the east, unite. This township takes the lead in short horn herds. The Agricultural College, Charles E. Allen, Bill & Burnham, William P. Higinbotham, A. W. Rollins, and others, have this choice breed of cattle, and most of them breed pure-blooded Berkshire and Poland China swine. Gen. J. S. Casement is breeding fine horses.

Col. George S. Park, of Parkville, Missouri, in the autumn of 1854, located a town site on the Kansas River, at the southwest part of the present site of Manhattan, and called it Poleska. Seth I. Childs built thereon the first house.

Later in the same season, Samuel D. Houston, of Illinois, Judge Sanders W. Johnson, of Ohio, Judge J. M. Russell, of Iowa, E. M. Thurston, of Maine, and Dr. A. H. Wilcox, of Rhode Island, met at the mouth of the Big Blue and located a town site, calling it Canton.

March 24, 1855, Isaac T. Goodnow, Luke P. Lincoln, C. H. Lovejoy, C. N. Wilson, Joseph Wintersaid and N. R. Wright, a Committee of a New England Company, which left Boston on the 6th of March, reached this place and at once decided to consolidate the two town companies with their own, and make one good town of them. The improvements then consisted of a log cabin, built by Colonel Park for a blacksmith shop, and a dug-out at the foot of Blue Mont. March 26, Mr. Goodnow pitched his tent upon the claim of Park and protected it with sod walls. Fifteen of the New England Company, March 30, 1855, voted at Juniata for S. D. Houston for Representative to the First Territorial Legislature. There were no Missouri voters sent out here to out-vote the Free -State settlers, hence Mr. Houston was the only Free-State member.

April 4, 1855, a consolidation of all these town interests was effected. Twenty-four persons were present, who organized as the Boston Association and named the town Boston. Several rough claim-houses were erected, and they were placed upon the most important quarter-sections of the town site, consisting of some two sections and selections were made of men to hold them from claim-jumpers. William E. Goodnow used one of these houses as a store; it stood where William Smith now resides, and was the first store in Manhattan.

The names of the members of the Boston Town Association were George S. Park, S. D. Houston, S. W. Johnson, J. M. Russell, E. M. Thurston, and H. A. Wilcox, members of the old organization, and Charles Barnes, Stephen Barnes, C. W. Beebe, Cyrus Bishop, C. E. Blood, G. H. Brown, A. Browning, S. I. Childs, Martin F. Conway, Joseph Denison, John Flagg, Isaac T. Goodnow, William E. Goodnow, John Hoar, Amory Hunting, C. H. Lovejoy, Luke P. Lincoln, J. H. McClure, H. B. Neeley, E. C. Persons, T. J. Roosa, Freeman Shattock, Frank B. Smith, Newell Trafton, B. Welden, T. C. Wells, S. Whitehorn and C. N. Wilson.

April 27, 1855, a colony left Cincinnati, Ohio, on the steamboat Hartford, bound for Central Kansas, via the Ohio, Mississippi, Missouri, and Kansas rivers. The name of Manhattan had been fixed upon as the prospective town, as it was though there would be room for a town that might bear some comparison to New York. At St. Louis the company numbered about eighty. Deeming the steamer an abolition boat, the authorities at St. Louis delayed her some days. A pilot was hired at the extravagant price of $750, and the voyage for Kansas City was begun. Cholera broke out on the steamer and the death of several members of the colony ensued. Arriving at Kansas City there was a tarry of a week because of low water on the Kansas, and when at Lecompton the steamer got aground, another heavy rain so raised the river that there was no further delay until the steamer passed the mouth of the Big Blue, about half a file, where it grounded, and was obliged to land its passengers and freight. This was June 1, 1855. The company numbered seventy-five persons. They brought with them ten houses all ready to put up. John Pipher, Andrew J. Mead and H. Palmer hired a wagon and drove to what is now Junction City, and there laid out the town of Manhattan. During their absence John W. Pipher had an interview with the Boston Association, which resulted in the Association voting to give half the town site to the Cincinnati Company if they would locate upon it and help build up the town. The offer was accepted and Boston became Manhattan, now the Beautiful City of Kansas.

One of the Cincinnati buildings that was shipped on the Hartford now stands at the north foot of Poyntz Avenue, near the railroad track, and with its nine rooms is occupied by several colored families. Another one was a store at the corner of First Street and Poyntz Avenue, and in 1882 it stood in the rear of the livery stable of A. L. Houghton. The first stone building in the town was erected by William E. Goodnow, in the northern part, southwest of the Gove place. David A. Butterfield, of Utica, New York, the Overland State Route man from Atchison to Pikes Peak, erected the second one.

The wife of Rev. C. E. Blood taught the first school in 1855. The first schoolhouse was erected in 1858, at a cost of $2,500.

The first church was the Methodist Episcopal, built of stone, in 1858, at a cost of $4,800. Isaac T. Goodnow raised $4,000 of it in the East, mostly from town-lot sales. The remaining $800 was raised here in 1857.

Irvine Lovejoy, son of Rev. C. F. Lovejoy, was the first birth. He was born in 1855, is a graduate at Baker University, and a theological student at Boston. The first death was that of G. W. Barnes, son of Charles Barnes, a very promising young man. Rev. Joseph Denison performed the first marriage ceremony, which was in January, 1856. Thomas Platt and Sally E. Pipher were the parties united. John Pipher was the first postmaster, appointed in 1856.

Incorporation. - The city was incorporated May 14, 1857, and the first election held May 30. The Election Judges were John Pipher, William M. Snow and Andrew J. Mead. Mr. Mead was the first Mayor; A. Scammon, President of the Board of Councilmen; W. M. Snow, Clerk; James F. Gardner, Marshal. In 1870 its population was 1,173; in 1880, it was 2,104. Governor St. John, June 26, 1880, issued a proclamation declaring it to be a city of the second class. Its Mayors have been Andrew J. Mead, E. M. Thurston, S. G. Hoyt, C. F. DeVivaldi, James Humphrey, Welcome Wells, M. J. Gove, Henry Laffer, G. W. Higinbotham, Amasa Huntress, E. C. Manning, N. A. Adams, R. B. Spilman, G. W. Wisner, J. K. Perry, S. A. Sawyer, William Dent, R. Allingham Jr., John Pipher, and W. M. Beverly.

J. E. Hibbard, James Humphrey, R .B. Spilman, William McKay, George S. Green, T. L. Magruder, Samuel Kimble and W. A. Scott have been the City Attorneys. H. W. Stackpole is Police Judge, and J. R. Young, City Clerk.

The following table shows the status of the ten churches of the city:

Denominations. Value. Seating Mem-
Room. bers.

Methodist Episcopal . . . . 15,000 500 800
Presbyterian . . . . . . . 12,000 600 125
Protestant Episcopal . . . 6,000 400 60
Congregational . . . . . . 5,500 450 160
Roman Catholic . . . . . . 3,000 250 40
Church of the Disciples . . 2,500 250 100
Baptist . . . . . . . . . . 2,000 200 80
Colored Methodist Episcopal 800 175 35
African Methodist Episcopal 700 150 25
Colored Baptist . . . . . . 500 125 40

Congregational. - This church was the second organized, of this order, between the Missouri River and Rocky Mountains. The first services were held in a tent, April 22, 1855. The desk was a trunk on its end, the seats were trunks, beds and boxes. The log cabin succeeded the tent. The Hartford steamer brought materials for a frame building. January 6, 1856, in a log house of Dr. Amory Hunting, the church was formally organized; Rev. Harvey Jones, of Wabaunsee, was moderator, and Asaph Browning, from Fitchburg, Massachusetts, clerk. Here was the independence of the local church, liberty of conscience, antagonism to American chattel slavery, and abstinence from intoxicating drinks most fully affirmed. A donation of forty town lots, and contributions from people in the East, gave the church a good start. The names of Stephen A. Douglas, Abraham Lincoln and Owen Lovejoy appear as donors, written with their own hands. The building, when nearly finished, was unroofed by a tornado, May 15, 1859, but it was built and dedicated July 24, 1859. Rev. Charles E. Blood, was the first pastor. He was succeeded on May 26, 1862, by Rev. Roswell D. Parker, a graduate of Michigan University, 1854, and of Andover Theological Seminary, 1857, accepted a call from the church, October, 1867. He closed his labors in 1880, as the pastor of the church, and was succeeded by Rev. A. H. Votaw. Rev. Mr. Parker still labors as a preacher, but his time is given considerably to the Telephone, a valuable State paper of the denomination.

Methodist Episcopal. - This organization was commenced on the steamer Hartford, when on the Ohio River, en route for central Kansas, April 30, 1854, by John Pipher. Its membership was twenty-three. On the journey a few were received on probation, and religious services were held nearly every night. The history of this church is coeval with Manhattan. Rev. C. H. Lovejoy, Rev. Isaac T. Goodenow (sic) and Rev. Joseph Denison, were the pastors, prior to 1856. Since then, the pastors have been N. Trafton, Joseph Denison, J. Paulson, J. F. W. Auld, F. H. Mudge, R. L. Harford, B. C. Dennis, N. Green, R. P. Duval, G. S. Dearborn, J. M. Sullivan, S. W. Lloyd, R. Wake, E. Gill, J. A. Motter and William Friend. A church building was erected in 1857, a parsonage in 1864. The old boat bell of the Hartford was used in the church. The present church edifice was dedicated October 17, 1880. It is one of the most beautiful in the State. The annual conference was held here in 1875, Bishop Merrill presiding.

Presbyterian. - A movement was set on foot here to organize a Presbyterian Church in 1866. Rev. Alexander Sterrett, of Evansville, Ind., began preach in the autumn, and for the first four months services were held Sunday afternoons in the Methodist Episcopal Church. Soon after, morning services were held in Goves Hall. Prayer meetings and sociables were held from house to house, and on July 28, 1867, the church was organized. R. J. Harper was ruling elder. The other members were C. F. Harper, E. S. Baird, Deborah Baird, C. P. Blatchly, Mary A. Crane, Caroline Higinbotham, Pauline Hunter, G. W. King, John Mails, Martha Mails, J. Mails, R. B. Spilman, Anna M. Sterrett, John Stingley, Mary A. Stingley. The church has had the following pastors: Rev. Alexander Sterrett, three years; Rev. Dr. Anderson, six months; Rev. J. H. Reid,five years; Rev. William Campbell, the present pastor, began his labors in 1876.

Protestant Episcopal (St. Pauls). - Rev. Charles M. Calloway conducted the first services for this organization, in July, 1857. The parish was organized in May, 1858, and Rev. N. O. Preston was chose rector. Bishop Kemper made the first Episcopal visitation in 1859, and during the same year the church building was begun; it was completed in 1867, and consecrated May 13, 1870. Rector Preston suddenly died February 14, 1866; Vestryman, M. J. Gove, was killed by a railway accident, March 1, 1873, and Senior Warden, Ambrose Todd, died December 4, 1880, after twenty-two years of official relations. He was the first in that office; Edward Newell as Junior Warden; A. J. Mead, E. M. Thurston, Scott Newell and William M. Snow as Vestryman. The rectors have been Rev. N. O. Preston, Rev. James H. Lee, Rev. Daniel W. Cox, Rev. James P. Fugett. Organization in 1882: Rector, R. E. G. Huntington, D. D.; Senior Warden, George F. Brown; Junior Warden, Charles F. Keables; Vestrymen, George W. Higinbotham, Charles F. Keables, William Dalton, William M. Snow, John C. Russell, Lieutenant A. Todd; Clerk, Charles F. Keables; Treasurer, Lieutenant A. Todd.

Baptist. - This church organized August 14, 1858; was incorporated November 13, 1860. Its members were Rev. M. L. Wisner and wife, who had letters from a church in Wisconsin, Dr. George Ferguson and wife from Michigan, James H. Young and wife from Kansas City, Mo., E. Colburne and Jane A. Williston from Massachusetts, and W. S. Hurlburt from Vermont. The first preaching services were held Sunday morning in the stone schoolhouse. Later they worshipped in the Congregational Church, but a cyclone taking off the roof, they returned to the school building, and still later in the old City Hall. Their present church building was commenced in 1862, but not completed until 1866. Its pastors have been Rev. M. L. Wisner, Rev. M. J. Kermott, Rev. J. M. Lackey, Rev. Elbredge Gale, Rev. Isaac Sawyer, Rev. I. S. Woods, Rev. S. Pillsbury, Rev. J. G. Mayer, who commenced his pastorate in December, 1878.

Church of the Disciples. - This church organized at an early day, was re-organized in 1872, and a church building was erected in 1873. Its regular pastors have been Rev. A. J. White, Rev. A. D. Goodwin, Rev. Henry Coyswell, Rev. A. B. Campbell.

Roman Catholic. - This church purchased the building formerly used by the Methodists, in the summer of 1880. Rev. Father McCune has been the pastor since its organization.

The Second Methodist Episcopal (Colored). - This church was organized as a Mission in 1866, and during the year a church building was erected. Rev. James S. Griffing was its pastor. He became insane, and died in 1881. Rev. Mr. Wilson is the pastor. His labors commenced in March, 1882.

The African Methodist Episcopal Zion (Colored). - This church was organized in October, 1879, and a church building was erected in 1880. Rev. Oscar Hoskins was the first pastor. Rev. Mathew Jones commenced his labors October 13, 1881.

Colored Baptist. - This organization, now consisting of forty members, was organized in March, 1880. Its Sunday School numbers seventy-five; superintendent, Lewis Call. The pastor is Rev. Abraham Cooper. The church edifice, a frame 22x30 feet, was built in 1882. This is known as the Second Baptist.

La Fayette Lodge, No. 16, A., F. & A. M. - A dispensation was granted this lodge, October 18, 1859. Major Beebe was Master; A. A. Garrett, Senior Warden; D. A. Butterfield, Junior Warden. The early movers in the work here were Major Beebe, D. A. Butterfield, A. A. Garrett, S. G. Hoyt, Samuel Long, J. W. Robinson and Major Scammon. The first lodge meetings were held in a building, owned by Robert Wilson, of Fort Riley; it was situated on the bank of the Big Blue; it has since been moved, and is now used as a grocery store by C. F. Briggs. The present officers are S. M. Fox, Worshipful Master; H. C. Crump, Senior Warden; I. G. Hacker, Junior Warden. Its membership is about seventy-five.

Manhattan Chapter, No. 14, R. A. M. - This Chapter was organized in 1869, with fifteen charter members. Present officers are George S. Green, H. P., S. M. Fox, King, Wm. M. Beverly, Scribe.

Manhattan Lodge, No. 1,465, Knights of Honor, instituted by A. Howland, D. S. D., February 27, 1879, with twenty-seven charter members. Organized by electing the following officers: William C. Johnston, D.; W. H. Stewart, V. D.; Charles F. Briggs, A. D.; James R. Young, Rec.; George B. Himes, Fin. Rec.; Orville Huntress, Treas,.; William M. Beverly, Chap.; William A. Brown, Guide; William H. Stingley, Guard; Charles W. Whelan, Sent.; L. J. Lyman, P. D.; Drs. L. J. Lyman and H. S. Roberts, Med. Exrs.; William M. Beverly, Robert Allingham, Jr., and Dr. H. S. Roberts, Trustees. Meets second and fourth Friday evenings of each month. Present membership, sixty-two. each membership carries with it $2,000 life insurance. One member, J. K. Winchip, has died since its organization.

Corinthian Lodge, No. 59, A., F. & A. M., was instituted February 15, 1882, with fourteen charter members. The following officers were elected: W. M., M. Jones; S. W., H. Welch; J. W., C. Mathews; Sec., G. S. Morgan; Treas.m, E. D. Williams. The lodge has now upwards of twenty members, and is in sound financial condition. Meets monthly.

Manhattan Lodge, No. 17, I. O. O. F., was instituted January 26, 1866, with twenty-three charter members, of whom the following are the elective officers for that term: N. G., John Pipher; V. G., J. G. Hollenbeck; Per. Sec., N. Dundore; Treas.m, M. Maurehan. The lodge has now a membership of seventy-five in good standing. Has had twelve deaths since organization, and has $2,000 cash on hands. meetings are held weekly in their own well-furnished hall.

Blue Valley Encampment No. 42, I. O. O. F., was organized April 26, 1882, with eighteen charter members, officers for the term being: C. P., J. R. Strong; H. P., H. T. Merryfield; E. W., S. B. Smith; J. W., B. L. Bredburg; Sec., I. D. Graham; Treas., D. Evans. Semi-monthly meetings are held, and the encampment is in a flourishing condition.

Phoenix Lodge No. 35, K. Of P., was instituted May 18, 1881, with twenty-three members. Has since had a slight increase in membership. Is free of debt, with balance in treasury. No deaths have yet occurred. Meetings are held semi-monthly in Odd Fellows Hall.

Western Star Division No. 1, S. of T., was instituted January 1, 1875, and has had a somewhat checkered career. It has now upwards of forty members, and is doing good work. The division is out of debt, with small balance of cash on hand. Meets every Tuesday evening in Mr. Kings new hall.

Blue Valley Assembly No. 1999, K. of L., was organized June 17, 1882, with a membership of twenty-one, which has since been increased to upwards of seventy. Is in good condition financially, and meets semi-monthly.

Manhattan Grange No. 748, Patrons of Husbandry, was organized April 4, 1874, and has a large list of members. Mr. William F. Allon is Master. The grange is in good financial condition. Meetings are held monthly in Odd Fellows Hall.

Len Gove Post No. 100, G. A. R., of Manhattan, was organized July 21, 1882. Its first officers were: H. F. Christie, Commander; H. C. Crump, J. V. C.; S. M. Fox, S. V. C.; G. J. Green, O. D.; J. M. Myers, O. G.; R. B. Sarber, Q. M.; W. Burgoyne, Adjutant. The post is free from debt and meets in Odd Fellows Hall.